McGeorge School of Law
Phone: (916) 739-7191

All McGeorge students are urged to read these regulations carefully. Failure to be familiar with this section does not excuse a student from the obligation to comply with all of the described regulations.

Although every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of this catalog, students are advised that the information contained in it is subject to change. The University reserves the right to modify or change the curriculum, admission standards, course content, degree requirements, regulations, tuition, or fees at any time without prior notice. The information in this catalog is not to be regarded as creating a binding contract between the student and the school.

About McGeorge School of Law

Established 100 years ago, the University of Pacific, McGeorge School of Law is an internationally recognized leader in the field of legal education with alumni practicing in all 50 states and in 58 countries. Its location in the capital city of California, Sacramento, has shaped the school's focus on capital lawyering, international law, and trial and appellate advocacy.

Programs Offered

Juris Doctor (JD) including optional Certificates of Concentration in:

  • Business
  • Capital Lawyering
  • Elder and Health
  • Intellectual Property
  • International
  • Tax
  • Trial & Appellate Advocacy
  • Water and Environmental

Doctor of Juridical Science (JSD) with concentrations in:

  • International Water Resources
  • International Legal Studies

Master of Laws (LLM) with concentrations in:

  • Transnational Business Practice
  • U.S. Law & Policy
  • Water & Environmental Law

Master of Public Administration (MPA) with optional concentrations in:

  • Capital Policy Making
  • Environmental and Water Policy
  • Policy Change, Institutional Reform, Sustainability
  • Public and Non-Profit Leadership

Master of Public Policy (MPP) with optional concentrations in:

  • Capital Policy Making
  • Environmental and Water Policy
  • Public and Non-Profit Leadership

Master of Science in Law (MSL) with focus areas in:

  • Government Law & Policy
  • Health Care
  • Human Resources  
  • Water & Environmental
  • Business

Dual Degrees in:

  • JD/MPP
  • BA Environmental Studies and Law/JD
  • BA Geological & Environmental Sciences and Law/JD
  • BA Political Science/MPP

Mission Statement

The mission of the McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific is to:

Provide a student-centered education that prepares its graduates for productive, successful, and ethical careers in law and other professions that serve society, and for leadership in building a diverse society committed to global social justice; and

Contribute to the improvement of law and policy through engaged scholarship and other forms of public service.

Accreditation and Memberships

McGeorge School of Law is fully accredited by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar of the American Bar Association and by the Committee of Bar Examiners of the State Bar of California. Degrees other than the JD (LLM, MSL, JSD, MPP, and MPA) are offered with the formal acquiescence of the American Bar Association Accreditation Committee. McGeorge School of Law is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. The school is approved for participation in veterans’ educational benefits programs. The law school has been awarded a chapter of The Order of the Coif, a national law school honorary society founded for the purposes of encouraging legal scholarship and advancing the ethical standards of the legal profession.

Non-Discrimination Policy

McGeorge, in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 (45 CFR 86), Sections 503 and 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, does not discriminate in the administration of any of its educational programs, admissions, scholarships, loans, or other activities or programs on the basis of race, gender, sexual orientation or preference, national or ethnic origin, color, disability, marital status, age, or religious belief.

Statement of Diversity and Inclusion

McGeorge strives to enhance the personal and professional experiences of our community by promoting:

  • Respect and Awareness of individuals and diverse communities and groups;
  • Education inclusive of a variety of different perspectives, experiences, intellectual interests, and worldviews;
  • A Commitment to increasing diversity in the legal profession; and
  • The value of Collective Action to challenge prejudice, stereotyping, and harassment.

The McGeorge commitment to diversity is an essential part of providing a high-quality education that prepares graduates for the administration of justice in a multicultural world and for professional participation in a legal community that represents the interests of a diverse society. (Statement adopted by the Minority Affairs Committee, ‘08-'09)