Skip to Content

This is an archived copy of the 2015-16 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

About the University of the Pacific

The University of the Pacific was established in 1851 as the first chartered private institution of higher learning in California. Its main campus is in Stockton, with two additional campuses in San Francisco and Sacramento. The University has long been recognized as an innovator in private education. Today it offers undergraduate, graduate, and professional education through eleven schools on three campuses.

Located on the Stockton campus are the College of the Pacific for undergraduate liberal arts education, the Graduate School, the University College for adult re-entry students, the Conservatory of Music, and the Schools of Pharmacy, Engineering, Business and Public Administration, Education, and International Studies. The Dugoni School of Dentistry is located in San Francisco. McGeorge School of Law was an independent law school in Sacramento founded in 1924 until it merged with the University of the Pacific in 1966. It has retained the name of its founder, Verne Adrian McGeorge. The Sacramento campus is also home to the following graduate programs:  Master of Business Administration, Physician Assistant, Doctor of Education, Masters of Science in Law, Master of Public Administration, and Master of Public Policy.

The University of the Pacific is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, and its professional schools and programs are also separately accredited by their respective accrediting agencies.

About McGeorge School of Law

The goal of McGeorge School of Law is to educate future members of the legal profession for responsible service in the many roles that lawyers perform. Students acquire legal knowledge and analytic skills through traditional classroom courses as well as through extensive clinical and experiential programs. The faculty’s teaching commitment assures each student the opportunity to prepare to practice law in any jurisdiction worldwide.

Located in Sacramento, McGeorge School of Law shares nearly 13 acres, devoted exclusively to graduate studies. The California State Capitol and other city, state, and federal government offices are within 10 minutes of the school and provide many opportunities to learn from supervised externship placements in federal, state and local governmental agencies.

Accreditation and Memberships

McGeorge School of Law is fully accredited by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar of the American Bar Association, and by the Committee of Bar Examiners of the State Bar of California. It is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. The school is approved for participation in veterans’ educational benefits programs.

The law school has been awarded a chapter of The Order of the Coif, a national law school honorary society founded for the purposes of encouraging legal scholarship and advancing the ethical standards of the legal profession.

Full-Time and Part-Time Divisions

McGeorge School of Law offers programs leading to the Juris Doctor (J.D.) degree through a Full-Time Division and a Part-Time Division. The two divisions have the same curriculum, faculty, and methods of instruction; maintain the same scholastic standards and degree requirements; and adhere to the same objectives.

The law school operates on the semester system; two semesters of 14 weeks each plus examination periods. All year-long courses begin in the Fall Semester, which starts in mid-August. The Spring Semester begins in January. Summer Sessions are also offered beginning in May.

The course of study in the Full-Time Division leading to the J.D. degree requires three academic years (six semesters) of full-time study. A Full-Time Division student must enroll and earn credit for a minimum of 12 units each semester; the usual course load is 14 to 16 units per semester. Full-time students are expected to devote substantially all their working time to the study of law and are required to limit outside employment to not more than 20 hours per week during the academic year.

The Part-Time Division program offers a reduced course load which generally requires four academic years (eight semesters) plus two summers of part-time study to meet J.D. degree requirements. Course loads usually range from 8 to 10 units each semester, with a minimum of 8 units required per semester. Most Part-Time Division students enroll in Summer Session courses to reach the required 88 units,  but may, schedule permitting, take those units during the academic year instead. An accelerated Evening Division program enables a student to meet degree requirements in three and one-half years (seven academic semesters and Summer Sessions).

First-year required courses and second-year part-time required courses must be taken with the division in which a student is enrolled, unless an exception is approved by the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs. Electives and upper-division required courses may be taken after the first year during day or evening hours, as individual schedules permit. Students who wish to change their programs of study from one division to another should schedule an appointment with an academic counselor regarding approval and course of study. Appointments can be made by calling 916.739.7089.